Sunday, February 22, 2009

Eat Your Apples!

I'm back again with another tasty release from the excellent Apple Pips label out of Bristol. Yes, that's right... more Ramadanman for you this week! On the A-side, he brings us 'Humber,' another dubstep shaker. As with all Ramadanman releases, the drum programming is tight, minimalistic, and uncluttered. When the subtle sub-bass locks in with the percussion, the track drives forward effortlessly. Throw in some simple melodies that are constantly being modulated to add some dynamics, and you've got a real winner here. Sven Weisemann lays down a dubbed-out techno remix on the B-side. He takes his time with this one, letting the track unfold gradually; the four-to-the floor kick drum doesn't appear until about halfway through. The hypnotic and dreamy melodies work with the lush strings to produce great emotional effect. The placement of sounds is spot on with subtle percussion panning left and right. While this remix may be for the early doors, it manages to capture the spirit of Ramadanman's original while still sounding fresh and creative. Essential release.

A-side - Humber
B-side - Humber (Sven Weisemann Remix)

Listen here

Have a good week, everyone.

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Sunday Evening Dubstep

It's Sunday evening, and the sky is finally clear after a rain-filled weekend. Luckily I stumbled upon my new favorite dubstep mix! This weekend, I bring you Ramadanman's recent mix for the excellent Dub War podcast series based in NYC. Ramadanman's superb Hessle Audio label has shown a hunger for variety and experimentation which have quickly placed it among the most forward-thinking sources for fresh dubstep material. This contribution to the Dub War podcast series showcases the sort of minimalism and rhythmic inventiveness that have given Ramadanman a voice in defining the shape of dubstep as it continues to push forward into unexplored territory. Techno, house and ambient are merely tips of the iceberg hinting at what lies beneath. Freshness!


01. Dub-U - 1 Way Running [Unreleased]
02. Mount Kimbie - William [Unreleased]
03. Burial - In McDonalds [Hyperdub]
04. Reform - Bonfire [Unreleased]
05. Ramadanman
- Dayrider [Unreleased]
06. Peverelist - Esperanto [Unreleased]
07. Untold - Discipline [Unreleased]
08. Headhunter - Grounded [Unreleased]
09. Pangaea - Router [Hessle Audio
10. Naphta - Jungle Republic (Ramadanman Refix) [Unreleased]
11. Pangaea - You & I [Hessle Audio]
12. Burial - Shell of Light (Excerpt) [Hyperdub]
13. Scuba - Tense [Hotshore]
14. F - Untitled [Unreleased]
15. Kontext - Plumes (Ramadanman Refix) [Unreleased]
16. Ramadanman
- Blimey (Edit) [Hessle Audio]

Download the mix here or subscribe to Dub War's podcast series via their website!


Wednesday, February 11, 2009


So, I have created a blog! Any grand plans? Not particularly. This space will just be an outlet for anything I want to write about, mainly music though. More specifically, music with BASS! Whatever piques my interest, be it fresh cuts from Berlin, soulful classics from Detroit, or anything in between... it's all HERE! Hopefully this blog will not fizzle out and lay dormant for long periods of time between entries. Diligence, Nihal, diligence!

Anyway, look out for my first picks... coming up soon!